“The Promise of Spring”

For the second time in my life, this  spring season is peppered with serious health Desert Poppies_wmkdifficulties and also sprinkled with hope. Being someone who doesn’t like to go into details about my personal problems, especially on social media, I’ll just say I’m full of much optimism, hope, and healing.

My setback has affected my writing life – writing children’s manuscripts that is. I haven’t been able to write since November, and I’m okay with that. It may be another six months before I can again. Yet something tells me it will be much sooner.

But the nice thing about writing and creating is that it’s flexible. You can stop when you need to and pick up where you left off. While it’s nice to write everyday, it’s not always doable or a reality for many, no matter the reason. That’s not to say I’m not thinking about my stories, or reading about the writing craft.

Maybe the better advice is to always have the frame of mind to write everyday. Or to be poised and ready to write as the window of opportunity presents itself if you have unavoidable obstacles. It doesn’t mean you’re not dedicated to your craft of writing – just truthful.

For the second time in my life, I will power through this rough path. IMG_0827

But I’m not alone – I have faith and hope. And isn’t that what this Easter and Spring season is all about? Cross_effectsclose2_wmk

“The darkest hour is just before dawn.” I believe!

Your input: When faced with health difficulties, are you able to write anyway? Or do you take a break and give your body a chance to heal?

8 thoughts on ““The Promise of Spring”

  1. Oh gosh, I think it depends on the health issue at hand. I pulled a back muscle a few weeks ago, but it did not effect my writing, actually gave me more time to because I had to be resting it. But if I get headaches or had a long week at work, then mentally I’m not available to write. Happy health and healing my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re a strong trooper, Savannah. It can be hard to concentrate on writing when in pain – and back pain is no fun. Of course, writing can also be a nice diversion from the pain. Thank you for the kind sentiments my friend. Health and healing is on the horizon!

    Like

  3. So sorry to hear you’ve been unwell, Lynn. I hope you’ll feel strong and healthy again soon. As for stories, I think they turn out much stronger after they’ve been left alone for a while, and as you say, they can easily be picked up again later. I’ve never written daily, but I’m sure all our emails and blog posts must count for something. 🙂 Take care and a speedy recovery!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with you completely, Marcia, that emails and blog posts in particular count as writing every day. It may be different than writing a children’s book, but it is honing the craft of putting words together. I deeply appreciate your kind and encouraging words – and I do plan to have a speedy recovery, as I am basically a healthy person! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

