“Writing Olympics – Not Always for The Medal”

I’ve been training most of my life for the ‘Writing Olympics.” It started with a love for reading as a child. Then I wrote fiction as a teen. In college, I gained a Journalism B.A. and worked in two radio newsrooms, and a TV newsroom for over five years writing news and feature stories. More recently I fell in love with writing for children.

olympic-rings1

Whether I’m tumbling with ideas, swimming laps with my characters, or running the track with an amazing plot line, the medal always seems out of reach.

I guess the equivalent to the Olympic medal—whether bronze, silver or gold, in the writing world would be winning an agent, a securing a book deal from an editor, and seeing your book published and on the shelves.

The more I listen to our amazing Olympic athletes on Team USA, the more I get it. They do it for the love of the sport. Sure it’s great to be recognized as the best in the world and win a medal, maybe even time after time.

michael-phelps

Michael Phelps sporting a few of his total 23 gold Olympic medals.

Michael Phelps, the most decorated Olympian of all time (28 medals total), said in the 2016 Rio games that he always wants to be the best and shoots to be at the top of the podium with a gold medal, but in the end it’s because he loves swimming. Phelps said, “I think goals should never be easy, they should force you to work, even if they are uncomfortable at the time.”

Phelps quote can be applied to the writer’s life and goals. I have none of the Writing Olympic medals above to show for all the countless, hours, days, and years of sweet writing sweat. Yet. But I do have countless children’s stories that qualify me to enter the publishing race. I’m tenacious, full of ideas and in this for the long haul. But most of all, I’m in the Writing Olympics for the love of writing. Always keep your eye on the prize and the finish line!

Go Team USA!

Your input:  What propels you to be your best in the “Writing Olympics” or any other passion in life?

6 thoughts on ““Writing Olympics – Not Always for The Medal”

  1. Great post. Watching the USA beach volleyball last night made me think about my goals and achievements. I was lucky enough to see Kerri Walsh Jennings play for fun here in AZ many years back and I love to watch them play now. Last night’s loss was hard to watch because of Kerri’s drive, plus she never loses. I thought of how she must feel and how that relates to when I “lose”. Although I have, according to the writing Olympics have earned several gold medals, I don’t feel like I have won all that I want and strive for more. I am not happy with a few and will keep working at it. But much like the 41 year old in the gymnastics that was great, but legs were just not strong enough to hold her up for the dismount, one should know when to pull the plug.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m an avid fan of the Olympic games and tend to watch every event I can to cheer on the US (and Poland – my people). I was also stunned and sad to learn of Kerri’s team loss. In my eyes because of her record she still won and will always be the best! I agree with you that even when a writer wins a Writing Olympic “medal,” they should strive for more and continue to seek to be better in their craft. It is the path of excellence. Thanks for stopping by, Savannah.

    Like

  3. That’s the perfect comparison! I can’t remember how many hours of “practice” they say we need to become an expert in a field, but I’m pretty sure if you added up all the hours I’ve spent writing, it would equal years by now!

    Like

  4. I’m right behind you, Stephanie. Writers must put in years of practice, writing, revising, rewriting, research, and passion to reach our goals! But it’s all worth it! Thank you for stopping by.

    Like

Leave a Reply

