“2016 ALA Youth Media Award Winners”

What better way to start the New Year than with the 2016 American Library Association (ALA) Youth Media Award winners recently announced!

ALA 2016 Winners
We’re talking a group of talented children book writers and illustrators who have contributed greatly to the world of children’s literature in 2015. Here’s a list of the complete winners: http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2016/01/american-library-association-announces-2016-youth-media-award-winners.

Last year I watched online and found it thrilling. Where else can you hear a banquet roomful of librarians cheer, clap, hoot, and holler? I got caught up in the excitement and am now hooked on watching every year.
When the award presentations were over, I discovered myself inspired to revise and even write a new picture book with fresh found fervor. Not with the hopes of ever winning an award, very few authors do that, but to create a literary experience for children in this age of technology. Children writer’s and illustrators do what we do in hopes kids will tap into their strongest superpower: Imagination!

Here’s the link to the Caldecott Medal & Honor Books, 1938-Present: http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/caldecottmedal/caldecotthonors/caldecottmedal.
Did you notice an evolution or revolution in children’s books over the decades? Did you find your favorite book(s) listed? I must admit almost any book for kids sparks my whimsy for daydreaming, and therefore writing. They transport me into a fantasy world of fun where of course, Dr. Seuss and his curious creatures reign.

Your input: Which children’s books powered your imagination as a child or an adult?

4 thoughts on ““2016 ALA Youth Media Award Winners”

  1. I used to love Grandfather Twilight by Barbara Helen Berger. I found the illustrations to be peaceful in nature. On the side note, I find the evolution of children’s books rather depressing for the most part. The books don’t seem to be as powerful as they once were, yet the winners that we see for these awards are clearly going to the old school format, so to speak. So even though they are a “hard sell” to editors, they are the ones winning awards.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to admit I wasn’t aware of ‘Grandfather Twilight’ but now I am. I will have to read it, as the concept and illustrations sound wonderful. I must agree with you on the evolution of children’s books. While the trend seems to be shorter, they seem to be missing much of the magic of years past that we grew up reading. I have faith that we will see a resurgence to the old school format you mentioned. Thanks, Savannah!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

